Politécnica de Madrid

Tempus Programme

The Tempus programme is, for countries outside the EU, for the Development Cooperation Instrument and Higher Education in the twenty seven partner countries. Its objective is to achieve voluntary convergence with the European Universities System through the Bologna process.

Tempus (The Trans-European mobility scheme for university studies) supports the modernisation of higher education and creates an area of co-operation in countries surrounding the EU. Established in 1990 after the fall of the Berlin Wall, the scheme now covers 27 countries in the Western Balkans, Eastern Europe and Central Asia, North Africa and the Middle East.

The beneficiary countries partners are:

  • Western Balkans: Albania, Bosnia Herzegovina, Croatia, a.r.Macedonia, Montenegro, Kosovo y Serbia.
  • Eastern Europe: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Byelorussia, Georgia, Moldavia, F. Russia y Ukraine.
  • North Africa: Algeria, Egipto, Israel, Jordania, Líbano, Marruecos, Autoridad Palestina, Siria y Túnez.
  • Central Asia: Kazajistán, Kirgizstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan y Uzbekistan.

The institutional collaboration between European Universities and the twenty-seven partners countries is established through multi-country projects in which, al least, six countries Universities (3 EU countries and 3 partners countries) are participating.